Friday the 13th Website
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

It's not the destination, it's the trip

Go down

It's not the destination, it's the trip Empty It's not the destination, it's the trip

Post by ThePunisher July 26th 2022, 7:20 am

Have you ever found yourself working towards a goal, and once you've gotten there, you found it was the people you met along the way that were more enjoyable and rewarding to deal with?

This is a lesson I've really learned this year. I've been working toward my master's degree since January 2020. The degree may be the ultimate reward, but all the really intelligent people I met in the classes along the way, as well as the professors, are what made the whole trip such a special thing. Of course, the hard part is always saying goodbye. Saying goodbye feels like such a kick in the gut, but somehow we find a way to keep going and meet the next group of people.

I learned that lesson during my quest for my bachelor's degree. I met so many good and smart people, it was always hard to say goodbye. I started at a two year, community college, and found friends there. I went to a four year school from there, and I burned out before I could finish my degree. I spent a few years scuffling in low paying, menial jobs before finding the college I would get my bachelor's degree at.

The common denominator was always making new friends and finding good people. I've also met people who really didn't like me and were afraid of me.
I still keep my feet moving forward.

At my job, I've had to say goodbye to people who have retired or quit in the last year. This process is accelerating because people are aging out and not being replaced quickly.